February 9 – Weekly Menu

Posted on

I realized this weekend that Meatfare Sunday is only two weeks away.  That means Lent is coming soon.  I don’t know if I’m ready for it yet, but it’s almost here nonetheless. I’ve been having lots of conversations about Lenten meal planning strategies, but I’ll share my plan another week.

This whole week is a fast free week, so there don’t have to be any vegan meals in the plan unless I just decide I want them.  However, I managed to come up with plenty of meaty meals very easily.

At the end of last week I had celery, onions, cabbage, avocados, and potatoes left in the fridge, so they are the first to be planned into meals this week.  Then there was the new basket of produce from our co-op yesterday.

This week most of the fruit will be for snacks.  We got a bag of granny smith apples, oranges, bananas, blackberries, and strawberries.  I think the strawberries may get added into this tried and true muffin recipe for a Valentine’s treat.  I’ve subbed pear sauce for the applesauce and coconut flour for the almond flour with good results.

As for the vegetables, the ones in bold are from the new produce basket.

Romaine lettuce – Carnitas and side salads throughout the week
Leeks, onion, and celery – Cock-a-Leekie Soup – only this time with chicken and omitting the potatoes.
Zucchini, potatoes, cabbage, and onions – Caldo de Puerco using the broth and leftover meat from cooking the Carnitas
Broccoli and onion – Brown rice penne with garlic olive oil and cooked turkey from the freezer
Cucumber and avocado – California Rolls
Asparagus, cabbage, and potatoes – Steak and potatoes with roasted asparagus, sauteed cabbage, and mashed potatoes

This week’s grocery store run necessitated about thirteen items and none of which were clothing this time.  That was more of an average week for me.  I did buy a five pound bag of carrots, so hopefully I’ll make it to Lent before I need more of those.  I almost regret not getting the twenty pound bag of carrots offered through our co-op, but I think twenty pounds might still be pushing it for my family’s Bugs Bunny like habits.

Leave a comment