RSS Feed

Pear-Pumpkin Soup

Posted on

This soup is fast and easy to make if you already have all the ingredients in the freezer.  I defrost all of the ingredients in advance, but that is most of the preparation that I had to do for dinner tonight.  The soup can be served hot or cold depending on the season and your preferences.  On warmer days I pair chilled soup with a simple salad, but today I served it warm with some toast made from Thanksgiving leftovers.  Sometimes I swap the beans with half a can of coconut milk.  It provides a subtly different soup, but my kids never seem to notice the difference.

Pear-Pumpkin Soup
I double this recipe for my family, but this smaller version is all that fits in my blender at one time.

Pear-Pumpkin Soup

1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 – 1 tsp salt, to taste
2 cups cooked pureed pumpkin (about one 15 oz can)
1 1/2 cups cooked white beans
1 cup vegetable broth
1 cup water
2 pears cored and sliced

Add all ingredients to the blender and blend until smooth. Warm gently if desired.

This may be served chilled or warm with sides of toast, salad, or both.

Leave a Reply

