RSS Feed

Ruth’s Pie Crust

Posted on

I’ve been cooking up some vegan pumpkin pie today.  I mostly used this recipe for the filling.  I only made some minor changes, like regular white sugar, simple molasses, and a little fiddling with the spices to omit the cinnamon, but the flavor is still not compromised.

That cranberry sauce in the picture isn’t anything fancy. I just follow the recipe on the package.

Pumpkin Pie

I’ve been working on my pie crust for several Thanksgivings, but last year I found my favorite combination.

Ruth’s Pie Crust
(double for a pie that needs a top crust)

1/4 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup garbanzo flour
1/4 cup arrowroot starch
1/4 cup tapioca starch
1 tsp guar gum
1 Tbsp sugar
pinch of salt
1/4 cup palm oil shortening
1/4 cup cold water
2 tsp white vinegar

In a bowl blend all of the dry ingredients.  Cut in the palm oil until the mixture is crumbly and well blended.  Add the water and vinegar, and stir until smooth.

Roll out on a floured surface to about 1/4 inch thickness and gently place in your pie pan.  I find that this dough is very forgiving when you have to press the inevitable tears back together.  Trim and shape the edges as desired.

For a simple shell bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Otherwise follow the directions in your pie recipe.

Leave a Reply

