RSS Feed

Adzuki Bean Stir Fry

Posted on

What is one to eat during the Nativity Fast if soy is off the menu?  Aside from whole grains and lots of vegetables, my answer includes a variety of beans and nuts.  I have a shelf in my pantry devoted to beans.  If I had more energy, I would go take pictures to include here.  However, I spent the day schooling, quilting, and cooking.

The quilt is almost done!  Sadly I ran out of quilting thread in the proper color, so I will wrap what is completed for the baby shower tomorrow and swing by the craft store on the way home.  Soon, I’ll post pictures of the finished product.  I would share it now, but I want my friend to see the quilt in person first.  Kathryn chose the fabrics but hasn’t seen anything since the day we visited the store.  I can’t wait!

All that to say, I’m saving my energy and keeping tonight’s sharing short, so John and I can read our chosen book for the fast.

I like to stir fry adzuki beans in the place of meat or tofu.  Tonight’s stir fry really was a hodgepodge.  Normally I would pick either green beans or snow peas, but I had just a few of each from my CSA.  Toss all of those with a few other neglected items from the refrigerator, and you have a stir fry.  Besides tonight’s options, I’ve been known to toss in thinly sliced celery, radishes, greens, and just about anything else that might chop small enough to hide in a stir fry.

Adzuki Bean Stir Fry
Dinner is sometimes a casualty of everyday life.  I couldn’t get a good picture of dinner tonight.  I got a little distracted by the juvenile members of my household during the last steps and slightly overcooked dinner.  The green beans were no longer bright green, and the adzuki beans were getting a bit mushy.  Nothing was burnt, so we ate it anyway.  It tasted better than it looks.

Adzuki Bean Stir Fry
3 cups uncooked brown jasmine rice
2 Tbsp sesame oil
1 inch knob of ginger, minced
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, sliced
3 carrots, sliced
1/2 lb long beans, green beans, or snow peas, trimmed into 2 inch lengths
4 oz mushrooms, sliced
1 bunch green onions, cut on the bias in 1 1/2 inch pieces
1 small can bamboo shoots, drained
1 Tbsp dulse flakes (optional)
3-4 Tbsp Coconut Aminos (optional, sometimes I’m out and don’t worry about this ingredient)
Salt to taste

Cook the rice according to package instructions.

Heat the oil over medium-high heat in your wok or deepest skillet.  Stir fry the onion, ginger, garlic, and carrots with a pinch of salt for 3-4 minutes until almost tender.

Then add the green beans and another pinch of salt.  Stir fry for one minute and add the mushrooms.

After another two minutes add the green onions, bamboo shoots, adzuki beans, and dulse flakes.  Stir fry for 1-2 more minutes.

Drizzle with coconut aminos.  Cover with the lid for 1-2 minutes.  Don’t get distracted by small children.

Serve over rice and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

