RSS Feed

Cranberry-Persimmon Pork Roast

Posted on

Today was a busy day.  John and Buster arrived safely home, followed shortly by my in-laws who took us to lunch to celebrate my birthday a bit early.  I can never forget when the Nativity fast starts, because it falls the day after my birthday on the new calendar.  For that reason we celebrate the weekend before instead of the weekend after.  It also allows me to stretch the festivities over the week as we inch towards the fasting season.

Since we planned to be out all afternoon, I put dinner in the slow cooker.  I still had a few persimmons, and I wanted to try them in a savory recipe instead of more baking.  It turned out well, but next time I will probably thicken the drippings to make a gravy.  I think that I’ll call today’s result an au jus.

It is also a great time to buy and freeze fresh cranberries.  Some local stores are selling 12 oz bags for a dollar a piece.  I love to use them in smoothies and sauces throughout the year.  Pumpkin-Cranberry smoothies are a wonderful combination.  I even blend them with water to drink during those unfortunate illnesses when cranberry juice is the recommendation.  When you are allergic to the apple juice fillers in most cranberry juice options and don’t want to pay an arm and a leg for the tiny bottle with only cranberry juice, you get a little creative.

Cranberry-Persimmon Pork Roast

I served this roast with sauteed kale and roasted potatoes.  I only had a few red potatoes and a large white sweet potato, so I roasted both in the same oven.  Under other circumstances, I probably would just pick one variety.  The kale’s lightly bitter notes provided a nice contrast to the sweetness of the persimmons. 

Cranberry-Persimmon Pork Roast

2 lb pork roast or tenderloin
1 tsp salt
2-3 cloves garlic
6-8 fuyu persimmons, diced
1/2 onion, small diced
6 oz fresh or frozen cranberries

Place the roast in the slow cooker.  Sprinkle with salt.

In a bowl, toss all the other ingredients together and pour around the roast in the pot.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-5 hours.

Optional: About 30-60 minutes before diner, thicken the liquid in the bottom of the pot with your favorite starch.   When mixing starches, dissolve a tablespoon or two in a little cold water, then blend with the rest of the liquid. Allow to continue cooking for at least 30 minutes.

Serve with your favorite sides.

Leave a Reply

