RSS Feed

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Posted on

Today I was busy preparing food for John and Buster to take on their road trip.  I’m sending hummus, vegetables, fruit, and sandwiches. I can’t share the bread recipe, because the changes I made weren’t good enough to share.

I bought John peanut butter.   Buster can’t have peanuts, so I made almond butter in my Vitamix.  You can make it with raw almonds, but it is faster and easier on your blender if you roast them first.

Since I had the oven on to roast the almonds, I decided to go ahead and toast the pumpkin seeds that had been drying on the counter since Monday.   Many recipes tell you to roast pumpkin seeds at 350-400 degrees for a short amount of time.  I always get distracted and burn them that way.  My coping strategy is to toast them at 250 degrees for 45-60 minutes instead.  Even if you get a little distracted, they take a lot longer to burn at the lower temperature.

Up until today I’d always just tossed the seeds with a little oil and salt and called it a day.  Today, I was taking inventory in the spice cabinet and remembered some pins that have been floating past me on Pinterest lately.  I got inspired by a few of them.  I would love to try this Ginger-Soy flavor (but with coconut aminos) one day.  Sadly, I used the last of my coconut aminos in dinner the other night.  Instead, these are the flavors I chose.

Pumpkin Seeds

Garlic-Rosemary
2 cups pumpkin seeds
2 Tbsp mild oil of your choice
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp rosemary powder
1/2 to 1 tsp salt, to taste

Curry
2 cups pumpkin seeds
4 tsp coconut oil
4 tsp Ruth’s Special Blend Curry Powder
1/2 to 1 tsp salt, to taste

Maple-Spice
2 cups pumpkin seeds
3 Tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of ginger
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.  Pick your flavor.  Mix the seeds with the other ingredients.  Spread in a single layer on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 45-60 minutes, until golden brown and crisp when you bite into one.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Vegan Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce | Seasonally Vegan

  2. Pingback: Vegan Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce | Seasonally Vegan

  3. Pingback: Pan Seared Pineapple | Seasonally Vegan

  4. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Pesto | Seasonally Vegan

Leave a Reply

