RSS Feed

Hummus

Posted on

We love hummus so much that we turn it into a complete meal.  I make several flavors, but today it was simply the plain chickpea variety.  We are allergic to citrus, so I use vinegar in the place of the traditional lemon juice.

I also adjust the recipe since I freeze my cooked beans into three cup portions, which might fill between two or three cans.  (It’s been too long since I’ve bought beans that way.)  I made a double batch tonight, so that I could send some on the road with John and Buster while they travel for a few days.

I serve the hummus with a variety of dipping vegetables and some sort of whole grain.  Sometimes that grain is simply cooked brown rice.  Other times it is these tortillas with brown rice flour, palm oil shortening, and guar gum.  I always use brown rice flour instead of white rice flour.

Today, I needed something that would travel well as leftovers, so I got tortilla chips.  Little Man can’t have corn, so I splurged on a bag of Beanitos for him.  See that dark brown chip in the picture?  That is a Beanito.

Hummus
I’ve never served fruit with this meal before today.  However, our garden offered up this cantaloupe of it’s own free will.  I didn’t plant cantaloupes on purpose, but this one grew out of the compost I sprinkled in the garden.  This little one is the only one that the vine produced and it ripened just in time for the cold weather to arrive.

Hummus
3 cups cooked garbanzo beans (chickpeas) with cooking liquid
1/4 cup sesame seeds, toasted or raw (or tahini in a lower powered blender)
2 cloves garlic, sliced
1/2 tsp to 1 tsp salt, to taste
3 Tbsp vinegar of your choice (try white, rice, or wine; see which you like best)
extra water, optional

Place all ingredients in a high powered blender (I use a Vitamix).  Turn the blender slowly to high.  Use the tamper as needed to incorporate all the ingredients.  Add water, as desired, to get the hummus to your preferred texture.  If the hummus is too runny for your taste without water, just drain some of the cooking liquid next time.

6 responses »

  1. If you are allergic to sesame seeds, sunflower seeds substitute just fine. The grandkids like it that way too.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: White Bean-Olive Hummus | Seasonally Vegan

  3. Pingback: Bessara | Seasonally Vegan

  4. Pingback: Bessara | Seasonally Vegan

  5. Pingback: Pan Seared Pineapple | Seasonally Vegan

  6. Pingback: March 2 and March 9 – Two Weekly Menus | Seasonally Vegan

Leave a Reply

