RSS Feed

Breakfast Sausage

Posted on

After posting our new Pumpkin Pancake recipe last week, I got several questions about what I served with them in the picture.  One plate has eggs;  the other has breakfast sausage.  Both are cooked with sauteed kale.  I find that sauteed greens go well with breakfast, and it squeezes in a few extra vitamins in the process.  It is easy to wilt the greens in a skillet and then scramble the eggs right into the mix.  However, two of us cannot have eggs, so I keep a supply of bulk browned breakfast sausage in the freezer and split the greens between the two applications.

Since peppers are on our combined list of allergies, I can’t simply buy breakfast sausage ready mixed from the store.  I mix my own.  I received this recipe as part of a wedding gift from the woman who is now my godmother.  Elisabeth gave me permission to share it with you all along with my modifications.  The original recipe had a bit of cayenne pepper (black pepper would be good if you want something less spicy) and left out the garlic and onion.  Use whatever combination strikes you fancy.

You can form these into patties and cook them in a skillet.  There’s no right or wrong there.  I personally cook it loose, freeze it, and take out just what I need each time.

If you choose turkey over pork, make sure you get at least the 85/15 choice in the tube.  The extra fat makes for a better sausage.  Just know if you choose a lower fat content, the sausage will be much drier than premixed options.  No judgement from me.  The choice is yours.

Pumpkin Pancakes

Breakfast Sausage

1/2 cup maple syrup
2 Tablespoons sage
1 Tablespoon dried minced onion
1 Tablespoon savory
2 tsp garlic powder
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 to 2  teaspoons salt (to taste)
5 Pounds ground turkey or pork

Mix the syrup and spices together in a measuring cup.

Add to the ground meat and mix thoroughly.

Cook as desired. Freeze the extra.

One response »

  1. health advocation

    yummy, great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

