RSS Feed

Bok Choy and Mung Bean Miso

Posted on

Today I had a lot of bok choy from our CSA.  While I love bok choy, I kept putting this round off until I received a second bunch yesterday.  It was time to buckle down and use it before it went bad.  Even after a week in my fridge, the “old” bunch of bok choy was still beautiful.  I guess that is the beauty of fresh local produce; it lasts longer than what you get at the store.  Nonetheless, I didn’t want to tempt fate, so I made a larger batch of soup for this rainy week.  Don’t worry, I’ll share the single recipe, not the double.

Often I will stir fry this same combination of vegetables and beans to serve over brown jasmine rice.  However, since today is only two days before my local friends can order miso from South River Miso Co.,  I decided to share one more miso recipe before you decided if you will indulge this year.  Read all about soy free and gluten free miso in my Adzuki and Kabocha Miso Stew post.

I had leftover millet from the stuffed squashes earlier this week, so I decided to serve it on the side with Gomasio.  The kids decided to stir the millet into the soup and declared it “better that way.”  Usually, I serve this soup over softened rice noodles.  I imagine that serving it over rice would be good as well.   I have to say that, after this little experiment, I prefer it over noodles too.  Try it several ways until you find your favorite.

Bok Choy and Mung Bean Miso
Also, sometimes I use adzuki beans instead of mung beans.  It really just depends on my mood.  Add ginger and garlic, too if it strikes your fancy.

Don’t forget to soak and cook your beans ahead of time.  I made an extra large batch to freeze for other meals.   The Nativity Fast is coming in just over two weeks, and I’m working up a good supply to save time later.

Bok Choy and Mung Bean Miso
2 quarts of water (add more if needed)
1 onion, thinly sliced
2 carrots, sliced
1 bunch bok choy, whites chopped like celery,  greens separated and sliced in ribbons
4 oz mushrooms, sliced
3 cups cooked mung beans or adzuki beans
1/2 cup adzuki or chickpea miso paste, or a little more if you like
salt to taste, only a little

Cooked rice, millet, or softened noodles.

In your soup pot pour in the water, onion, carrots, the white parts of the bok choy, and a pinch of salt.  Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer for 20-25 minutes.

Once the onions and carrots are soft, add the mushrooms and beans to the pot.  Bring back to a simmer and cook another 8-10 minutes until the mushrooms are tender.   Add the greens to the pot and simmer until wilted but still bright green.

Remove from the heat, and allow the soup to cool for 15 minutes or so before you add the miso paste.

Adjust miso and salt to taste.  Serve over noodles or rice (or on the side) and enjoy.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fourth Week of the Nativity Fast: Vegan Colcannon | Seasonally Vegan

  2. Pingback: March 23 – Weekly Menu | Seasonally Vegan

Leave a Reply

