RSS Feed

Vegan Pumpkin Buckwheat Pancakes

Posted on

I think breakfast is the meal that causes those with food allergies to struggle the most.  Dairy, eggs, wheat, and corn all factor prominently in American breakfast foods.  Replacing products with their gluten free counterparts can be expensive.  Trying new recipes can be frustrating when the experiment fails.  The cost of the specialty ingredients you’ve wasted is depressing.  You start wondering if breakfast is optional.  Then one day you find the right recipe.

Pancakes are a treat at our house.  We have been making Sue Gregg’s blender pancakes for years using cultured coconut milk in place of yogurt.  I say “we,”  but really all the pancake making props go to John.  He is the expert pancake chef here.  Sue uses simple ingredients, but you have to plan ahead to make her pancakes.  There are no spur of the moment pancake plans with this recipe.  You have to soak the brown rice overnight in the blender.  The recipe is good, and she will give it to you as a free sample if you fill out this form.

However, I’ve been seeing fall pumpkin pancake recipes on Pinterest.  Even my friend Katherine posted her Great Pumpkin Pancakes last week.  Even her lovely, simple recipe won’t work for my family.  I can’t have eggs or oats, not even gluten free oats.  I even looked around the internet for a recipe that I thought would work for our family.  I found nothing that I was happy with, so I sighed and thought to myself that I probably wouldn’t get pumpkin pancakes this year.

Then my friend, Laura, pinned this recipe for Chocolate Buckwheat Pancakes the next day.  The recipe is small and we had everything we needed to try them.  John substituted carob powder for the cocoa and used 2 T sugar for the stevia.  The recipe was just the right size for a snack for all five of us.  They were amazing!  Don’t get me wrong, I like Sue’s recipe, but we may never go back.  They were so good that John offered to make them again for bedtime snack that same day.  John, who tolerates our gluten free baking, because he must, was actually craving them again the same day.

I proposed my little experiment the next day.  What if we come up with a pumpkin pancake recipe that we can have?   John has made more pancakes this week than in the last six months put together.  I hope you like them just as much as we do.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
I made this recipe using 2 cups of pumpkin puree.  I freeze my puree into that measurement for my other pumpkin recipes.  One 15-oz can of pumpkin is 1 3/4 cups of puree.  If you use a can, just add a few extra tablespoons of water or nondairy milk.

Vegan Pumpkin Buckwheat Pancakes
(Yields 35-40 silver dollar pancakes, enough for one breakfast and a small snack for our family)
3 cups buckwheat flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp allspice
2 cups pumpkin puree (or one  15-oz can plus a few Tbsp milk)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 Tbsp maple syrup
3 cups nondairy milk of your choice
Oil for griddle

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients.  In another bowl combine the wet ingredients.  Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until well blended.

Heat your griddle or cast iron skillet over medium heat.  Brush with oil.

Pour pancakes onto hot griddle.  John does want me to warn you that both buckwheat pancake recipes have thicker batter than you’re used to using for pancakes.  Just make them silver dollar size (about 3 inches in diameter) and spread them quickly using a ladle or small measuring cup.

When the pancakes bubble around the edges, flip and complete the cooking on the other side.

Serve with maple syrup and enjoy.

You can serve with eggs, bacon, sausage, and or sauteed veggies, but then breakfast might not be vegan anymore.

5 responses »

  1. These sound absolutely delicious!! I love the addition of spices and pure maple syrup, yum 😀

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Breakfast Sausage | Seasonally Vegan

  3. Pingback: Honey-Mustard Chicken Tenders with Pear-Fennel Salad | Seasonally Vegan

  4. Pingback: Vegan Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce | Seasonally Vegan

  5. Pingback: The Feast of Saint Nicholas: Cilantro Pesto | Seasonally Vegan

Leave a Reply

