RSS Feed

Golden Beet and Curly Endive Braise

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was a chicken roasted with sage, garlic, and salt.  I served it with oven potatoes and braised beets with greens.   I’ve done this before with red beets and their attached greens.  This week my golden beets came without their greens, so I used my curly endive instead.  I also had a few pears that were turning towards being over ripe that I tossed in for good measure.

There are many schools of thought on how to roast a chicken.  I fall into the slow and low category and crank the oven up at the end to brown the skin.   What is your favorite way to cook a whole chicken?

Beets and Greens

I will warn you that I got distracted during the final stages of cooking the greens.  I over cooked them.  That is why they aren’t standing out in the picture the way I’d like.  Be mindful at the end and remove the lid from the pan and turn off the stove when the greens are bright green.  Thankfully the kids did not seem to notice and cleared their plates despite my errors in technique.

Golden Beet and Curly Endive Braise

2-3 T olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 small red onion, small diced
4 golden beets, peeled and diced into 1/3 inch cubes
3-4 ripe pears
1/3 cup water
1 bunch curly endive, chopped
3 Tbsp Golden Balsamic Vinegar (If you do this with red beets, regular balsamic would be fine.)
1-2 Tbsp honey or maple syrup (optional, I do this for the kids)

Warm the oil over medium-high in a cast iron skillet.  Add the onion with a pinch of salt and saute for 3-5 minutes until translucent.

Add the beets and continue to saute for 5-8 minutes while stirring well.   Be careful, beets can burn quickly.

Add the pears.  Reduce heat to medium.  Saute for 3-5 more minutes.

Deglaze the pan with the water and scrape the brown bits from the bottom.  Cover with a lid and let steam until beets are tender, about 8-10 minutes.

Layer the endive on the top of the beets.  Cover and steam until wilted and bright green, about 2-3 minutes.  Remember this is where you shouldn’t get distracted.

Drizzle with vinegar and honey.  Toss lightly and serve.

Leave a Reply

