RSS Feed

Fall Baking

Posted on

A sweet friend invited a crowd of ladies over to her house last night for a fall painting class.  I took my sister and we had lots of fun learning to paint this fall scene.  Anita, I learned a lot.   Thank you so much for your hospitality!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Anita asked us all to provide autumn inspired snacks to share.  I decided to bake carrot cupcakes.  My favorite recipes come from The Flying Apron.  The recipes in this book are bakery sized, so I often cut the recipe in half when I’m baking.  This time I baked the full batch (approx. 46-48 cupcakes!).  Over the next few weeks we have several birthday parties to attend, so now I’m prepared with a supply in the freezer.

Carrot cupcakes

I must warn you, the cupcake batter will scare you.  It is very runny.  I called a friend to check on the consistency the first time I made these because it is not like anything you’ve ever seen.  It was more runny than pancake batter.  She promised that everything would be fine, just stick them in the oven.  I’ve never turned back.  The results are amazing!

I love the recipes because they are simple.  Whole grains, natural sweeteners, few ingredients.  The basic cupcake recipe has only eight ingredients.  You can’t say that about a lot of gluten free, vegan baking.  I like the recipes so much that I made the “Maple Cake” recipe at a friend’s request for her wedding reception recently.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

While I can’t share the recipes from the cookbook, I can share my frosting recipe.

Vegan Maple Vanilla Frosting
(enough for 12 fancy cupcakes, or 24 everyday style)

4 Tbsp palm oil shortening
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
whisked together until smooth.

Slowly add, and continue whisking until fluffy and incorporated:
2 1/2 cups homemade corn-free powdered sugar (unless you can have corn, then I would buy it)

Optional:
Add 1-2 Tbsp of water depending on the consistency you need.  Stiffer for piping, softer for spreading.  If you get it too thin, add in a tablespoon of powdered sugar at a time to correct.

Carob or Chocolate Variation:
Reduce powdered sugar to 2 1/4 cups.  Add 1/4 cup carob or cocoa powder.  Continue as directed above.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Honey-Mustard Chicken Tenders with Pear-Fennel Salad | Seasonally Vegan

  2. Pingback: Pan Seared Pineapple | Seasonally Vegan

Leave a Reply

